2016 Annual Leadership Awards

Presented each year in conjunction with Americans for the Arts Annual Convention, these awards recognize the achievements of individuals, organizations, or programs committed to enriching their communities through the arts. Learn more about each award and nominate yourself or a colleague.

Nominations are open now and will close on March 9, 2016.



National Award for Public Leadership in the Arts

These awards are given in recognition of elected officials who advance of the arts and arts education within their communities and whose vision and leadership provide heightened visibility to the value of the arts.

Presented in cooperation with the United States Conference of Mayors

  • Congressional Arts Leadership Award
  • National Award for Local Arts Leadership
  • National Award for State Arts Leadership
  • National Legendary Artist Award

Presented in cooperation with the National Lieutenant Governors Association

  • Lieutenant Governor Arts Leadership Award

Presented in cooperation with the National Conference of State Legislatures

  • State Legislator Arts Leadership Award

Presented in cooperation with the National Association of Counties

  • County Arts Leadership Award

Learn more about when and how to nominate your elected official and see a list of past recipients.

Arts Destination Marketing Award

The Arts Destination Marketing Award is presented annually to leaders from destination marketing organizations (DMOs) and local arts agencies (LAAs) that use the arts to market the community as a travel destination. Established by Americans for the Arts and Destination Marketing Association International, this award recognizes the importance of a strong relationship between a community’s DMO and its local arts agency.

Two awards will be presented at Destination Marketing Association International’s Annual Convention and at the National Arts Marketing Conference.