Meet the Emerging Leaders Network Team

Nicholas Dragga

Executive Director, Ballet Lubbock

NICHOLAS DRAGGA has served as the Executive Director of Ballet Lubbock since January of 2011 where he focuses on program design, development, and the branding of the organization. Under Nicholas’s leadership, Ballet Lubbock’s budget has over tripled with dramatic student enrollment and contributed income increases. 

Mr. Dragga spearheaded several collaborations with the Ballet and other prominent Lubbock arts organizations including the Lubbock Symphony Orchestra, the Louise Hopkins Underwood Center for the Arts, the Charles Adams Studio Project, and the Texas Tech University School of Music. Current efforts at Ballet Lubbock include implementing the recently completed five-year strategic plan that calls for expanding the staff structure and a relocation of the Ballet Lubbock facility to Lubbock’s Downtown Cultural Arts District.

Prior to his work with Ballet Lubbock, Mr. Dragga served as the Marketing Director for the Lubbock Symphony Orchestra, and the Marketing Coordinator for Ballet Lubbock.

Mr. Dragga holds a Bachelor’s of Music in Music Performance and Composition from Texas Tech University, and a Master’s of Science Degree in Arts Administration from Drexel University where he was awarded the 2012 Arts Administration Award for Academic Excellence. Nicholas’s graduate research was focused on the successes - or not - of alternative ticket subscription models used by symphony orchestras and has received attention from think tanks and group one orchestras from across the country.

Mr. Dragga has served as a grant evaluator for the National Endowment for the Arts, Texas Commission on the Arts, The Houston Arts Alliance, and is a Texans for the Arts Certified State Arts Advocate. Locally, Nicholas is a Member at Large of the Texas Tech University Museum Association, member of the Louise Hopkins Underwood Center of the Arts Advisory Council, a member of Rising Arts Leaders of Lubbock. In 2014 he was named to the Lubbock Chamber Of Commerce’s Top 20 Under 40 Award.