Betty Plumb

2007 Honoree - Alene Valkanas State Arts Advocacy Award


Betty Plumb is the executive director of the South Carolina Arts Alliance, a statewide assembly representing the interest of all arts disciplines, arts organizations, educators, arts administrators, artists, business and individuals. The South Carolina Arts Alliance has become the state's leading arts policy, advocacy, and service organization. 

Under Betty's leadership, the Alliance has developed an extensive grassroots advocacy base of informed supporters of the arts and arts education legislation and its funding at the state and federal level. In addition, the Alliance serves as a technical assistance service provider and resource for local and statewide arts administrators, providing subsidies, workshops, and consultancies in the field of arts management and leadership development. 

Betty has held her current position since 1994, and was associated with the Alliance as their project director for grants since 1990. In July 2001, she completed a two-year term as president of the State Arts Advocacy League of America, a national service organization for statewide advocacy agencies. She also served as president of the National Community Arts Network, a statewide association of arts service providers. Betty served as co-chair of Americans for the the Arts State Arts Advocacy Network.

Betty has, and continues to serve and participate on many statewide and local boards and committees. She has presented workshops, given keynotes, and served as a panelist for many national and statewide organizations and conferences, and privately consults with other states. The Arts Alliance was the 1996 recipient of the Elizabeth O'Neill Verner Award, the Governor's Award for Outstanding Arts Organization. In 1993, Betty was presented with the South Carolina Arts Education Association’s Arts Advocacy Award, and their President’s Award in 2005. The Arts Alliance was the recent recipient of the Advocacy Award from the South Carolina Dance Association, and Betty was recognized with their President’s Award.