Sophia Loren, Lady Gaga, Herbie Hancock, Joan and Irwin Jacobs, Alice Walton, Maria Bell to Be Honored on October 19th

Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Americans for the Arts today announced its annual National Arts Awards honorees. The awards recognize artists and arts leaders who exhibit exemplary national leadership and whose work demonstrates extraordinary achievement. They are individuals who share a common belief in the power of the arts and arts education to enrich individual lives and communities alike. The 2015 National Arts Awards will be presented on Monday, October 19th at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City as part of National Arts and Humanities Month. 
This year’s National Arts Awards recipients are:
  • Sophia LorenCarolyn Clark Powers Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Lady GagaYoung Artist Award
  • Herbie HancockOutstanding Contributions to the Arts Award
  • Alice WaltonArts Education Award
  • Joan and Irwin JacobsPhilanthropy in the Arts Award
  • Maria BellLegacy Award
Carolyn Clark Powers will serve in her inaugural year as Event Chair—alongside co-chairs Sarah Arison, Gagosian Gallery, David and Susan Goode, Susan and John Hess, Nora C. Orphanides, Regina K. Scully, and former National Arts Awards honoree Agnes Gund.
The evening will feature the work of visual artist Kerry James Marshall and a special musical performance by YoungArts, with musical direction by Jake Goldbas and featuring a performance by The Voice finalist, India Carney. This year’s award presenters include five-time Tony-winning, Emmy- and DGA-winning and Academy Award nominee, director, and choreographer Rob Marshall; art patron and collector Agnes Gund; La Jolla Playhouse Artistic Director and Tony-nominated director Christopher Ashley; literary scholar, journalist, and cultural critic Henry Louis Gates, Jr.; and international art world figure and Americans for the Arts Artists Committee Member Jeff Koons. The National Arts Award itself was designed by Mr. Koons in 2009—who himself received the National Arts Award for Artistic Achievement in 2006.
For more information, see our press release about the 2015 National Arts Awards. 
Information about past National Arts Awards can be found here